Category Archives: Community Histories

Industry to Forest: Kilns of Limehouse

UntitledHikers who explore the conservation trails in the pastoral village of Limehouse, situated off Hwy. 7, between Georgetown and Acton, wouldn’t recognize the bustling industry that was in full swing at the turn of the 20th century. Like many communities nestled along the Niagara Escarpment, Limehouse carved its beginnings from what nature provided. Limestone kilns, whose remains still stand in the conservation area, provided raw material for many structures that still function locally and nationally.

The mortar that fortifies Toronto’s Osgoode Hall, Old City Hall, as well as most Canadian universities and grand old hotels like the Royal York, are enduring reminders of the limestone industry thata saw mill, grist mill, and a paint factory surrounding the limestone works.


Leave a comment

Filed under Community Histories, Portfolio

Acton’s Noble Knight Sir Donald Mann

Donald-MannPublished in Sideroads of Halton Hills
Special thanks to Jim Waldbusser

Familiar names hold a history that enriches our sense of home and deepens the feeling of belonging.

Sir Donald Mann had an Acton park named after him, as well as the Mann Cup, the trophy emblematic of senior lacrosse supremacy in Canada. These gestures honour the memory of a local boy who achieved fame and fortune, and who was knighted in 1911 for his achievements.

When Mann was born in 1853, Canada had yet to become a nation (1867) but he was destined to be one of its architects by helping to build the railway that would unite the country from coast-to-coast.

Starting out as a seminary student, Mann never abandoned his spiritual beliefs, but soon realized his true calling as an entrepreneur, after working in lumber camps in Ontario and … DOWNLOAD FULL ARTICLE

Leave a comment

Filed under Community Histories, Portfolio

The Beaumont Mill, Where the Past is Present

Published in: Sideroads of Halton Hills


Driving over the Credit River that lazily winds its way under three bridges in Glen Williams, it’s hard to imagine that this gentle waterway once hydro-powered three industrial mills which established the village in the 19th century.

One of those mills is still a local landmark at the north end of Main Street. The Beaumont Knitting Mill “knitted underwear yarns and a high grade of ladies and gentlemen’s worsted and cashmere hosiery,” (The Toronto Daily Mail, 1893,) and exported worldwide into the 20th century.

On the north side of the building, facing Main Street, a heritage plaque reads, “Joseph Tweedle (as in Tweedle Street) ran a saw mill on this site in the 1860s. The present building (is) c. 1872, was built by Richard Hurst and purchased in 1878 by Samuel Beaumont.”

The large limestone building, with mansard roof and dormer windows, is now Beaumont Mill Antiques and Collectibles where, for the past six years, Peter Arsenault and his 35 vendors
have made the historic building a favorite haunt … Download Full Article

Leave a comment

Filed under Community Histories, Portfolio